Design/Functionality Ideas for Archive Website

Now that we are looking in to creating a website centered around the Hilgenberg Archive/German Heritage Archive, I would like to share my ideas for the site. I would like the site to feature:

  • Searchable pages of Der Deutsche Correspondent (we’re looking in to the ABBYY Historic OCR software, see previous post).
  • The pages of the newspaper translated to both English and German (if possible).
  • A section for comments.
  • A photograph gallery for contemporary photos.
  • A section that features other German-related MdHS collections that could possibly expand to collections held by other institutions throughout Maryland.
  • Bibliographic section that features reference materials for German Heritage researchers.
Overall I would love for the website to feature great design that is easy for visitors to use.
If you have a favorite archive website that features a collection that you think I should take a look at, please feel free to comment on this post.
2 comments
  1. I like websites like Ancestry.com and FamilySearch.org though these sites would be different than yours because these sites have billions of records.

    I’m not sure what is the best example right off, but I suppose many people know what is good and what is not. That is why I am surprised when I see how complicated websites like the Maryland State Archive site are. They tried, but it only makes sense after someone spends hours using it and is a tech savvy learner. I suggest getting some elderly people with minimal computer skills to test an early beta when you are in development. 🙂

  2. My biggest concern would be to make sure we could change the website later on, say five years from now, once the site is built.

    Certainly, I don’t want this to be a complicated website. I agree that I will have to test the site with people who might be likely to search through it – both young and old, computer literate and less so. Also having a feedback capability would probably help when the site is already up.

    Thanks so much, I will post if I find a site I really enjoy and think will work for the Hilgenberg Archive!

Leave a Reply

